The idea that there are important things that you want to do before dying isn’t new, but I think it is enduring. Candy Chang has taken it to the streets. I love this kind of art: public, interactive, changeable. It seems like it would be community building, too. If I lived nearby, I would want to walk past this building often, to see new additions to the list.

While I can think of many things that would be fun, my only goal that rates inclusion on a list like this is travel. There are so many places I want to see before I die. Here’s my list:

  • Macchu Pichu
  • United States road trip
  • Greece, Italy, Spain
  • Vancouver
  • Mongolia
  • China
  • Japan
  • Denmark (for museums, mostly)
  • many, many tropical islands
  • Egypt
  • Turkey
  • Australia (my son has been obsessed with going here since he was about 3)
  • Africa (northern and central parts)

I suppose Rio De Janeiro should be on the list, too. I have a pleasant recurring dream that my husband and I are visiting the Christ the Redeemer statue. After, we drive a tiny convertible down a spiral road around a mountain, going faster and faster until we finally crash on that fabulous crescent beach, laughing all the while. I even wear a large-brimmed hat, like Grace Kelly. I’d like to go to bed and have that dream right now.

