1. I am so good at everything else that I need to struggle and, finally, fail in order to feel grounded.
  2. Obsessive-compulsive disorder.
  3. The voices in my head won’t stop unless I am writing.
  4. Evil chipmunks will eat out my eyeballs if I stop. Seriously, the voices told me.
  5. It makes me rich. No, not really.
  6. I like words.
  7. Sitting at the computer is a signal to my family that I want to: make toast, mediate an argument, play rummy, read Bunnicula and look at them while they do hand stands. It brings us together.
  8. Ideas come to me (if I’m lucky) and if I don’t make a story about them, they jabber away in my head, ordering kegs, putting up streamers and partying until exorcised.
  9. Writing is the ultimate control trip. I can make you laugh or cry. I can make you love or hate a character.
  10. You know how some people seek out those 2,000 piece puzzles with images that make it impossible to discern where each piece goes? The same reason: insanity.

 

Women’s History Month

I used to be quite a rabid feminist. Experience has shown me that human intolerance extends to men, too, if they are different. I have also learned that holding each other back, has become, in part, the domain of women. Why is this? When Lara Logan was raped in Egypt, plenty of women sounded off in comment sections across the web, saying that she only had herself to blame. This blaming of women, by women, isn’t restricted to sensational events. Everyday life choices like marrying (or not) and having children (or not) are questioned by other women. 

While I have mellowed, I still think it’s worthwhile to remember that just a few generations ago women were expected to drop out of the workforce when they married, whether they wanted to or not. My mother’s generation had to be married in order to receive a prescription for birth control. It wasn’t until 1920 that women were granted the right to vote in the United States.

If we mean to have heroes, statesmen and philosophers, we should have learned women.

Abigail Adams

 

