It’s cold in Michigan today: -4 right now. I had a stroke of genius this winter and installed one of the kids’ heating blankets on the sofa. My kids don’t get cold enough to require a heated blanket, so it’s not as much of a bad mom moment as it sounds.The blanket is sheer heaven. It’s perfect for napping or snuggling under to read or watch football, the ultimate reality tv show.

I try not to indulge in wishful thinking, especially as it relates to the weather. But I find myself fantasizing about my clothesline today. Hanging my clothes out to dry is one of my favorite household chores. The combo of saving money, reducing my family’s energy usage and the super smell of clothes dried outdoors is pretty heady. I get a little meditative moment when I’m out there, too. (I know you all will think I’m crazy, but the only thing on my to-do list that is better is brushing the cats.)

 

 

