“Write even if you don’t want to, don’t much like what you’re writing, and aren’t writing particularly well.” Agatha Christie

I found this quote on the site Dragon Writing Prompts. Very fun stuff there, check it out if you’re feeling uninspired.

I’m a glass-half-full type of gal, and so, easily inspired. I came across this article today about how novel-writing isn’t addressed at universities because of time constraints. The inspiring part is that the author, Cathy Day, makes a point of saying how very bad partially formed novels are, almost until they are complete. Many are also very bad when published, but that’s another topic.

Unfortunately, my husband is sick. Blech, norovirus, go away. Not only am I worried that my kids will catch it, or myself, but I have to do all the “man” work around this place until he’s able to stay awake and away from the toilet for more than ten minutes at a time. Already I had to plunge a toilet and get the firewood. What’s next, giant hairy spiders? Bats in the house? Drywall repair? On the upside, I had sushi for dinner, which he hates. (See. Optimism: it’s a virtue.)

In an effort to reduce our exposure to the virus, the kids and I skedaddled to a friend’s house for a few hours. I would like to point out that this is hard evidence in my fight to convince certain folks (you know who you are) that homeschooling is not damaging my kids by:  1. lack of socialization and 2. “always making them the center of attention.” Today six homeschooled children, ages 6-12, played without incident. Also, I ignored them for two hours while catching up with friends. Actually, I ignore them plenty. Daily, even.

