1. My dog. She gets me outside first thing in the morning, when the birds are chirping and the rabbit prints remain undisturbed in the snow.
  2. My temple. For pushing me.
  3. Winter nights. Somehow they seem sheltering and safe in a way that summer nights, full of wildness and possibility, do not.
  4. Orion, the hunter. I always thought he was watching out for me, like the woodcutter in Little Red Riding Hood.
  5. Oranges and grapefruit, my winter food obsession. Can’t. Get. Enough.
  6. Etta James, Joan Jett, Billie Holiday, Pat Benatar, Beyoncé and a hundred other kick-ass women testifying.
  7. My late, great Grandmother “R”. She taught me about secular humanism, feminism and independence. When I was nine. She was the smartest and sanest person in every room.
  8. Family family family, even the crazies.
