My sister and her boyfriend are arriving from New York in two days. Thanksgiving is in three days. Tomorrow I am going to help my husband install insulation for a customer. I should be cleaning, cooking, painting, fall decorating. Instead, I am categorizing books. I stumbled across Library Thing while searching for a novel set in ancient China, our current world history homeschool subject. It seems like an easy way to keep track of the books we use in our studies. It certainly is more reliable than my current system of lists scrawled on random scraps of paper which are then used as bookmarks or paper airplanes.

Adding books to my Library Thing list brought an unpleasant realization: the children’s books that I read outnumber the adult books by at least 10 to 1.  I know that I am forgetting many of the books I have read, but still, damn. I think I might be turning into one of those moms whose online identity is Jadensmommy or momto2sweetkids,  someone whose entire pre-motherhood life has been wiped away by giving birth. I am very afraid of this. I am a badass, adult novel reading  person with interetsts other than motherhood. I can talk about current events, as long I have read about them in the local weekly. I like dogs, we can talk about that……

 

